Student Honors

Patrick Asinger (left), Natalie Dall, and Charles Hansen won Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships, the highest honor for undergraduates who intend to pursue research careers in science, math, or engineering. A fourth student, Ethan Garcia Baker, received an honorable mention.

Leenie Baker received a Josephine deKarman Fellowship, recognizing U.S. and Canadian students who demonstrate high scholastic achievement. She was one of eight winners from among more than 400 applicants.

Alex Josowitz (ENGR ’16), pictured at left, and Saundria Moed (ENGR ’16) were named 2016 Whitaker Fellows, and Timothy Keane was named a 2016 Whitaker Scholar. All studied in Pitt’s Swanson School of Engineering. The Whitaker International Program selects “world-class student researchers and the future leaders of global collaboration” to spend one to two years abroad for research, course work, or an internship.

Ying Chen “Bailey” Lien won a 2016 Udall Undergraduate Scholarship which honors sophomores and juniors for their leadership, public service, and commitment to careers related to the environment or the advancement of American Indian nations.

Mehrgol Tiv (A&S ’16) won a Humanity in Action Fellowship supporting her humanities-based research on language acquisition and psychology. Fellows are academically gifted leaders with a commitment to advancing human rights issues. Tiv was among 48 students selected from 500 applicants.

Senior Lia Petrose won a Harry S. Truman Scholarship, which recognizes rising juniors and seniors who are preparing to become leaders in public service. She is the 12th Truman Scholar in Pitt’s history.